Health News
Diet & NutritionDiseases & ConditionsHealth Care ReformMental HealthSeasonal FluHealth BooksArchived Featured Health Books
Senior Resource List
Carbon Valley Resources
This is the "Home" page of the "Health & Wellness" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Health & Wellness   Tags: diseases, flu, health, health_care, illnesses, influenza, sick, wellness  

The Health & Wellness subject guide has links to information about a variety of health related topics including nutrition, exercise, alternative therapies, and diseases.
Last Updated: Jun 3, 2013 URL: http://highplains.libguides.com/health Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Health & Wellness Resources

Welcome to the High Plains Library District

Health & Wellness subject guide!


 

Take a look around at the wide range of health information available through the library and on the Internet.

 

If you believe you may have a serious health condition,

please seek the advice of a health care professional.

 

If you are experiencing a health emergency, please call 9-1-1.

 

  Health & Wellness Databases at Your Library

  • Consumer Health Complete
    Provides content covering many areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
  • NewsBank - Special Report: Infectious Diseases
    A collection of articles on AIDS, SARS, the West Nile virus and other emergent, drug-resistant, animal-carried and infectious diseases. Includes information on migration, containment, prevention and immunization.
  • NewsBank - Special Report: Mental Health
    A select group of articles and background information on disorders, providers, institutions, science, awareness, government involvement and more.
  • NewsBank - Special Report: World Health
    Extensive reporting on modern illnesses, epidemics and treatments, in addition to coverage of health issues specific to each region of the world through articles, statistics and dispatches from the World Health Organization (WHO).
  • Teen Health & Wellness: Real Life, Real Answers
    Comprehensive database that allows teens (and those who care about teens) to research health-related issues important to their well-being. It’s both a research/report tool and a self-help resource.
 

Local Health Events

 

 

9Health Fair

9Health Fair is Colorado's largest volunteer-driven, non-profit health fair program that serves 100,000 people at 170 statewide 9Health Fair locations each year.

 

American Cancer Society/Patient Program in Weld County

  • Reach to Recovery--Call ACS Call Center 1-866-500-3272 to schedule a visit
  • Road to Recovery--Call ACS Call Center 1-866-500-3272 to schedule transportation
  • Look Good...Feel Better--North Colorado Medical Center in Greeley, 2nd Monday, every other month, 10am til noon. Call Marjorie at 970-350-6163 to register
  • Look Good...Feel Better--American Cancer Society office in Greeley, 2nd Monday, every other month, 5.30 until 7.30pm. Call ACS Office, 970-356-9727, option 3 to register.
  • Man to Man Prostate Cancer Support Group--North Colorado Medical Center in Greeley, 3rd Thursday, monthly from 5.30 until 7pm. Call Marjorie at 970-350-6163 to register.

 

 

NCMC Community Wellness Programs

North Colorado Medical Center offers a variety of classes and health events. Wellness Services offers low-cost blood screenings open to community members; some immunizations are also available upon request and availability. Open labs are held on the second  and fourth Wednesdays of every month from 7:00am to 8:45 a.m. To schedule an appointment, call (970) 350-6633 at least 24-hours in advance. 

 

Weld County Department of Public Health and Environment

The Weld County Department of Public Health and Environment offers a variety of educational classes, screening and intervention programs.

 

Area Agency on Aging  and Weld Aging Well 

The Area Agency on Aging offers multiple workshops for older adults and family caregivers. For general information or to register, call (970) 346-6950. The classes include:

 

  • A Matter of Balance: Fall Prevention 
  • Chronic Disease Self-Management: Tools to Manage Chronic Conditions
  • Strong People:Strength Training 
  • Powerful Tools for Caregivers:For family caregivers, learn to reduce stress, anger and guilt

 

 

Tobacco Free Weld          

Tobacco Free Weld is putting together Tobacco Cessation Classes. For more information call  970-304-6470 ext 2386.

Free resources are also available through the Colorado QuitlineThe Colorado QuitLine is a FREE online service available to Colorado residents 15 years of age and over. When you become a member, you get special tools, a support team of coaches, research-based information, and a community of others trying to become tobacco free. Their expert coaches can talk to you about overcoming common barriers, such as dealing with stress, fighting cravings, coping with irritability, and controlling weight gain.

We also offer a free telephone service, so you can speak to a coach in person, if you would prefer. Through the telephone program you can receive a supply of patches too. Call the QuitLine at 1-800-QUIT-NOW or 1-800-784-8669.

Weld Diabetes Project

 

Women's Wellness Connection

The Women's Wellness Connection program offers free mammograms and pap tests to qualifying women with limited income or limited insurance 40 to 64 years of age, with emphasis on women age 50 to 64. The goal of the program, and its staff, is to reduce breast and cervical cancer mortality through the promotion of compliance with routine screening guidelines, and timely, diagnostic evaluation.

 

 

Health Mobile Health Unit June 2013 Schedule

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

3

 

4

Weld County Food Bank / 1108 H Street

9:00am – 12:00pm

 

Jerry’s Market / 1513 14th Avenue

12:30pm – 3:30pm

5                   (migrant / seasonal)

 

Bonnie Farms / 42678 CR 35

8:00am – 11:30am

 

Pine Apartments / 2160 30th Street

1:00pm – 4:00pm

6              (migrant / seasonal)

 

Fagerberg’s (field) TBD

Eaton

Greeley Transitional House

1206 10th Street

4:00pm – 6:00pm

10

1st Presbyterian Church / 1321 9th Avenue

10:00am – 1:30pm

 

Plaza Del Milagro / 25001st Avenue

4:00pm – 6:30pm

11

Salvation Army / 1119 6th Street

7:30am – 1:00pm

 

Tower 21/ 614 8th Avenue

1:00pm – 3:30pm

12

Migrant Head Start Physicals

Plaza Del Milagro

9:00am – 3:00pm

(Only Head Start)

13

17              (migrant / seasonal)

 

Hugenberg Farms ( field)

11:30am – 3:00pm

 

Guadalupe Shelter / 1442 N. 11th Avenue

4:00pm – 6:00pm

18

 

Department of Human Services / 315 N. 11th Ave

8:00am – 11:00am

Greeley Valley Turf / 17730 Hwy 60

11:30am – 2:00pm

19                           

Provider Meeting / 11:00am – 1:00pm

 

Safeway Grocery Store / 1122 11th Avenue

2:00pm – 4:00pm

 

Greeley Transitional House/1206 10th St.

4:00pm – 6:00pm

 

 

20

 

Global Refugee Center

 1424 13th Ave.

10:30am – 1:30pm

 

 

 

24                                     

1st Presbyterian Church / 1321 9th Avenue

10:30am- 1:30pm

 

(migrant / seasonal)

Miller Farms / CR 66 (Platteville)

3:30pm – 6:00pm

25

Salvation Army / 1119 6th Street

10:00am – 1:30pm

 

Department of Corrections; Greeley Parole Office

1:30pm – 3:30pm

26

 

27

 

Consumer Health Complete

Are you looking for reliable health information? Take a look in Consumer Health Complete, a powerful database of articles, fact sheets, and media from a wide range of reputable health publications. Consumer Health Complete is easy to use, and free to all High Plains Library District resident cardholders.

      

    Teen Health & Wellness

    Teen Health & Wellness: Real Life, Real Answers, provides students with comprehensive curricular support and self-help tools on topics including diseases, drugs, alcohol, nutrition, fitness, mental health, diversity, family life, and more.

        
       

      CATALOG SEARCH

       

      Search the Library Catalog

       

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip