Access the High Plains Library District's database collection and Web resource guide.
Last Updated: Nov 19, 2013
- A to Z Maps Online
AtoZMapsOnline.com is the worlds largest subscription-based database of proprietary, royalty-free world, continent, country, and state maps. Included in the 4,000+ maps are: political maps, physical maps, outline maps, population maps, precipitation maps, climate maps, and other thematic maps. New maps are added to the collection every month.
- A to Z USA
A to Z USA is your one-stop center for information about U.S. States and Territories. Find state, county and city information as wells maps, flags, photos.
- A to Z World Travel
Information on over 200 world cities; city facts, neighborhoods, activities, restaurants, climate, consulates, health & medical, language, maps, travel essentials, transportation, banking, communication and more.
- ABC-CLIO: Social Studies Databases
History and social studies databases.
United States Geography
United States at War
Issues: Understanding Controversy & Society
- ABC-CLIO eBooks
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life in America
- Academic Search Premier
Access full text articles from thousands of publications, 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. PDF backfiles to 1975 available for over 100 journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
- Access Science
AccessScience is an online science platform featuring fully searchable content from McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science & Technology.
- AllData Online
Powerful, easy-to-use, comprehensive, online auto repair resource with information for models back to 1982. The information is unedited and updated regularly.
- Ancestry Library Edition
Access census, vital, church, court, and immigration records, as well as record collections from Canada and other areas.
- APS Journals
Access more than 400,000 physics related scientific research papers. The journals of the APS embody the mission of the America Physical Society "to advance and diffuse the knowledge of Physics."
- Associations Unlimited
Index to Associations in the United States. Search by name or acronym, location or subject.
- Auto Repair Reference Center
Information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles, with repair information for most vintage makes starting as far back as 1945.
- Axis360 / Blio
Check out eBook & audio eBook titles for your PC, MAC, and Android computers, laptops, tablets, smartphones, as well as a number of e-readers.
- Biography & Genealogy Master Index
Covers individuals both living and dead, from every field of activity, and from all areas of the world. Sources include biographical dictionaries, Who's Who, encyclopedias and literary resources.
- Biography In Context
Nearly a million biographical entries spanning history and geography. Curriculum-aligned resource that offers media-rich content in context that's updated daily to meet the needs of today’s user. Over 600,000 biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals. 50,000 new or updated bios added annually in addition to daily updates to account for awards and events. Integrated reference material, periodical information and multimedia content.
- Business Source Premier
Coverage includes many subject areas related to business.
Provides full text for nearly 8,200 serials dating back to 1965 and searchable cited references back as far as 1998. This database is updated on a daily basis.
- Career Cruising
Career Cruising is an web based career exploration and planning tool. What's included:
- career profiles with multimedia interviews and a PhotoFile
- additional military career profiles
- industry profiles
- an interest assessment tool with a skills assessment
- a learning styles inventory
- access to college and university information
- personal portfolio tool
- an employment guide
- a job search aggregator tool
- CBT Clips
CBTClips are short, computer training videos that provide step-by-step instructions for Microsoft Office products such as Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Access, Outlook,Windows and much more. Use these tutorials for just-in-time training on specific tasks or customize your learning experience by working through the different applications.
- Colorado Grants Guide Online
Fundraising resource for nonprofit and community-based organizations in Colorado. Contains hundreds of profiles on: local foundations and trusts; corporations; government agencies; and religious organizations that support Colorado nonprofit organizations.
- Consumer Health Complete
Provides content covering many areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
- Consumer Reports Buying Guide
Online text version.
Information on a wide range of consumer products including such items as electronics, household appliances, and automobiles.
- Consumer Reports Magazine
Online text version.
Full text access to the online text version of Consumer Reports.
- Consumer Reports Online
Easy to search Website version.
Ratings and recommendations on thousands of products and services in categories including appliances, cars, electronics and computers, home and garden, health and fitness, babies and kids, food, personal finance, and travel.
- CultureGrams Online
Offers concise, reliable, and up-to-date information on the history, customs, and lifestyles of the various cultures of the world.
- Cypress Resume
Effortlessly create professional resumes in minutes!
- Demographics Now
Demographics Now provides resources on demographics.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Database of open access journals covering all scientific and scholarly subjects. Primarily used to identify open access journal titles and forty percent of them are searchable at the article level. Journals can be browsed by title or by broad subject area. Articles are searchable by article author or title, ISSN, journal title, abstract, or key words. Full-text is not searchable but is fully accessible. To be included in the DOAJ, journals must use a funding model that does not charge readers or their institutions for access and must exercise peer-review or editorial quality control.
- eBooks - HPLDs eBook collection
Go to the eBook collections list on our Databases by Subject page.
- Ebsco eBooks
Choose from thousands of eBook titles viewable on your personal computer.
- EBSCOhost MOBILE
Search EBSCO’s leading research databases anytime and anywhere using EBSCO’s mobile access technology. EBSCOhost MOBILE is tailor-made for the smaller screens of mobile devices and provides the same user-friendly and easy-to-use search experience that is available with the full version.
- EBSCOhost Research Databases
High Plains Library District's EBSCOHost subscription database collection at-a-glance.
- Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos
La Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos está organizada de modo que los estudiantes puedan encontrar información rápida y fácilmente. Pulse en la primera letra del título del artículo para ver el artículo.
A guide to published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics, with information from RIE (Resources in Education) and CIJE (Current Index to Journals in Education).
- Foundation Directory Online
Access timely, comprehensive information on grantmakers and their grants. Search 80,000 foundations, corporate giving programs and grantmaking public charities, as well as 500,000 recently awarded grants.
- Foundation Grants to Individuals Online
Access up-to-date information on foundations that fund individual grantseekers. More than 6,200 entries in all. Records include detailed descriptions of approximately 2,000 programs which fund individual grantseekers.
- Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
- Gale Databases
High Plains Library District's Gale-Cengage subscription database collection at-a-glance.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Reference eBooks titles covering the following subject areas: Arts, Business, Environment, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation & World, Religion, and Science.
- Gold Rush
Find magazines, journal titles and articles.
Information covering aspects of human impact to the environment. Scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
HeritageQuest combines digital, searchable images of U.S. federal census records with the digitized version of the popular UMI® Genealogy and Local History collection.
- History Reference Center
Comprehensive, full text, history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, and undergraduate research. Features full text for 2,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers.
- Hobbies & Crafts Reference Center
Access information on popular hobbies, crafts and recreation activities. Subject areas include arts & crafts; games & electronics; models; needlework; outdoors & nature; and scrapbooking & paper craft.
- Home Improvement Reference Center
Home improvement assistance, including: maintenance, remodeling, electrical work, plumbing, wood projects, outdoor improvements, decorating home & garden, etc.
- Illiad (interlibrary loans)
Request and track ILL titles.
Watch Independent Films & Foreign Films Online.
Independent films: award-winning and festival favorites, shorts, features and documentaries.
First time users will need to create TWO (2) accounts for IndieFlix for Libraries - one account to establish an IndiFlix library account - and a second account to view IndieFlix titles online.
After initial set-up, IndieFlix content may be streamed directly to a television set via a Roku box or an Xbox (PS3 streaming coming soon).
- Kids Infobits
Provides multi-media research resources designed for Kindergarten through Grade 5 students.
- Kids Search
Kids Search makes it easy for students to search by keyword or by topic to find the most useful search results. Results can be easily sorted by source type: magazines, reference books, photos, flags, etc.
Learn4Life offers a wide range of highly interactive courses, with live instructors, that you can take entirely online. Courses run for six weeks and new sessions begin every month.
Test preparation program includes:
- Academic tests: GED, ACT, SAT, GRE, Advanced Placement and more.
-Civil Service: postal worker, EMT, firefighter, law enforcement.
- Military ASVAB
- Real Estate
- Legal Forms
Official, State specific, Federal, Business, Personal, Real Estate and General forms covering hundreds of legal subjects and issues.
- Legal Information Reference Center
Legal Information Reference Center contains hundreds of full-text publications and thousands of legal forms. Search over 12,800 state-specific legal forms–searchable by top subject areas including Adoption, Bankruptcy, Name Changes and more.
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
- Literary Databases: Contemporary Authors/Literary Criticism
-Contemporary Authors: biographical and bibliographical information on modern authors.
-Contemporary Literary Criticism: critiques of contemporary works and authors.
- Literary Reference Center
Information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. Specifically designed for public libraries, secondary schools, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research.
- Mango Languages
Foreign language courses online
Learn to speak:
-English for Spanish, Polish and Brazilian Portuguese speakers.
- MAS Ultra: School Edition
Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database provides full text for more than 700 popular general interest and current events publications with information dating as far back as 1975 for key magazines.
- MasterFILE Premier
MasterFILE Premier contains full text for more than 1,750 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more.
- Mergent InvestorEdge
Access documents and financial information for individual companies; corporate documents including annual, industry and equity reports as well as general contact information for each domestic and international company in our database.
- Mergent Online
Information on 10,500 U.S. companies and 15,000 international companies. Includes histories, financial statements, business descriptions, properties, officers, directors, SEC filings, annual reports, institutional and insider holdings and subsidiaries.
- Middle Search Plus
Provides full text for 140 popular magazines for middle and jr. high school research. Contains 84,074 biographies, 86,135 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 107,135 photos, maps and flag of 107,135 photos, maps and flags.
- Morningstar Investment Research Center
Morningstar Investment Research Center is an all-inclusive investment research database. It features data and analysis on over 13,000 international and domestic stocks, 24,000 mutual funds, and more than 1300 exchange traded funds. Plus, the database boasts a comprehensive Help and Education Center, Portfolio X-Ray and robust screening tools.
MyGovernment provides information on how our government functions, representative contact info and where representatives stand on key issues.
- National Geographic Magazine Online, 1888-Present
Featuring the complete archive of the magazine to one month of the current print issue, National Geographic Magazine Online, 1888-Present, includes every article, all fully searchable through an intuitive interface.
- NetLibrary (now Ebsco eBooks)
Choose from thousands of eBook titles viewable on your personal computer.
- New England Historic Genealogical Society
Access the NEHGS online genealogical databases.
The electronic editions of record for valuable local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers--all in one easy-to-search database. Each paper provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community.
- Newspaper Source Plus
Provides cover-to-cover full text for 149 national & international newspapers, including The New York Times, The Boston Globe, San Francisco Chronicle, The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, and more.
Access tens of millions of searchable newspaper pages, dating as far back as the 1700s. The Greeley Tribune is available from 1916-1977. Use the archive to view, save and print full-page newspapers from around the world.
Sign up and receive email newsletters telling you what’s new and hot. No more searching for the next thing to read. Now, with NextReads, the titles come to you!
- NoveList Plus
Fiction and nonfiction readers' advisory resource. Search titles by author, title, or series. Find read-a-likes by author or plot description. Included are best book lists, book discussion guides, book talks, feature articles and author interviews.
- NoveList Plus K-8
Fiction and nonfiction readers’ advisory for children and young adults.
- Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH)
The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a publication of the United States Department of Labor's Bureau of Labor Statistics. The OOH includes information about the nature of work, working conditions, training and education, earnings, and job outlook for hundreds of different occupations. The OOH is a nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. The Handbook is revised every two years.
- OneClickDigital Audio eBooks
Download Audio eBooks to your PC, smartphone or portable audio device.
Exclusive Adult, young adult and children’s titles, including many New York Times bestsellers.
Audio format compatible with Apple, Windows and Android devices.
- OverDrive eBooks & Audio eBooks
Browse or search thousands of great Audio eBook and text eBook titles and download them to your computer; transfer them to a portable device or burn onto a CD.
- Oxford Islamic Studies Online
Encompassing over 5,000 A–Z reference entries, chapters from scholarly and introductory works, Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, maps, and timelines, Oxford Islamic Studies Online offers a multi-layered reference experience designed to provide a first stop for anyone needing information and context on Islam.
- Points of View Reference Center
Designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides 200 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument).
- Primary Search
Primary Search provides full text for more than 60 popular magazines for elementary school research.
- Professional Development Collection
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of more than 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.
Pronunciator has 50 language learning opportunities offering a range of language skills such as reading, writing, listening, and speaking in a structured, building-block approach.
Each language segment includes 10,000 phrases; 354 hours of audio lessons; 10 types of interactive drills; and 6 types of scored quizzes.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences
Database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Detailed information on more than 14 million US businesses, 210 million US residents, and 855,000 US health care providers.
- Regional Business News
Comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
- Resume Maker
Resume Maker is an online résumé creation application. Resume Maker offers a step-by-step guide to creating your resume as well as a list of thousands of suggested phrases, several format styles, a web page publishing option and resume writing advice.
- Safari Tech Books Select
Collection of over 500 technical/computer/electronic eBooks from the world's top publishers. Covers the top subjects in the area of popular IT subjects, ranging from desktop software to web design to digital photography.
- Science Online
Science Online presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments.
- Science Reference Center
Access science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, and more.
Resources for primary through middle school students. Includes an encyclopedia, dictionary, magazine articles and encyclopedia of animals. Searchasaurus is visual, fun and colorful.
- Small Engine Repair Reference Center
Online tool for small engine repair assistance, including: ATVs, commercial mowers, farm tractors, generators, motorcycles, marine, outdoor power equipment, PWC (personal watercraft/jet ski), snow-blowers, snowmobiles, tillers and other small engines.
- Student Research Center
Search databases by topic heading, make use of an online dictionary and encyclopedia, explore the top searches of the day, and even limit searches according to appropriate Lexile reading levels.
- Teen Health & Wellness: Real Life, Real Answers
Comprehensive database that allows teens (and those who care about teens) to research health-related issues important to their well-being. It’s both a research/report tool and a self-help resource.
Explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics. Contains full text for over 92,700 articles from more than 2,500 diverse sources, including more than 1,550 full text periodicals.
- TumbleBook Library
Animated, talking picture eBooks in a format kids will love. TumbleBooks transform existing picture books by adding animation, sound, music and narration to produce an electronic picture book.
- TumbleBooks (Español)
TumbleBooks son libros animados, con ilustraciones que hablan, para enseñar a los niños más pequeños los placeres de la lectura en un formato que les encantará.
- World Book (Home)
Links to all of HPLD's World Book products.
World Book Online For Kids
World Book Online Info Finder
World Book Online Reference Center
Spanish Language products:
Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos
- World Book Kids
World Book Online for Kids was developed especially for young public library patrons. The site offers easy-to-read articles and a wealth of engaging multimedia, games, science projects, interactive tools, and activities.
- World Book Reference Center
World Book Online Reference Center is a powerful reference tool for advanced researchers and information seekers. The site features thousands of e-books, tens of thousands of articles, and hundreds of thousands of primary source documents and features developed especially for public library patrons such as Computer and Web Tutorials, How To... documents, and Government Resources.
Comprehensive bibliography, with more than 57 million bibliographic records representing over 400 languages on materials ranging from stone tables to electronic books. You may also place interlibrary loan requests from your Interlibrary Loan account
Browse your favorite magazines on your computer, tablet or smart phone. Zinio eMagazines are exact replicas of the print version (plus enhancements like video, audio and live links with some titles). Once you check out an eMagazine it is yours to keep; no late fees or check-in date to worry about.
First time users will need to create TWO (2) accounts for Zinio Digital Magazines for Libraries - one account to access the library collection - and a second account to view the magazines in the Zinio viewer account.
Zinio eMagazines may be read on a wide variety devices including; computers, iPads, Android tablets, Kindle Fire and more. Unfortunately, the Nook Color doesn't seem to be fully supported yet.