Money Saving TipsCouponing
RefinancingForeclosure
This is the "Personal Finance Home" page of the "Personal Finance" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Explore the world of personal finance. We have compiled a multitude of resources through the library and online to help you take charge of your finances, no matter what stage of planning you are facing.
Last Updated: Oct 22, 2014 URL: http://highplains.libguides.com/money Print Guide RSS Updates

Personal Finance Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

 

Welcome!

 

A key component of personal finance is financial planning.  To help get started or for the latest advice, your library has the tools that you need. 

 

 

Personal Finance Literacy

Cover Art
All the Money in the World - Laura Vanderkam
ISBN: 9781591844570
How happy would you be if you had all the money in the world?The universal lament about money is that there is never enough. We spend endless hours obsessing over out budgets and investments, trying to figure out ways to stretch every dollar. We try to follow the advice of money gurus and financial planners, then kick ourselves whenever we spend too much or save too little, For all of the stress and effort we put into every choice, why are most of us unhappy about our finances?According to Laura Vanderkam, the key is to change your perspective.

Cover Art
Money Rules - Jean Chatzky
ISBN: 9781609618605
In times of economic uncertainty, your money stress escalates: Will I have a job? What should I do with the money I'm making? How do I protect my future?

Cover Art
The Behavior Gap - Carl Richards
ISBN: 9781591844648
This book will teach you how to rethink all kinds of situations where your perfectly natural instincts (for safety or success) can cost you money and peace of mind. He'll help you to: avoid the tendency to buy high and sell low; avoid the pitfalls of generic financial advice; invest all of your assets-time and energy as well as savings-more wisely; quit spending money and time on things that don't matter; identify your real financial goals; start meaningful conversations about money; simplify your financial life; stop losing money! It's never too late to make a fresh financial start. As Richards writes: "We've all made mistakes, but now it's time to give yourself permission to review those mistakes, identify your personal behavior gaps, and make a plan to avoid them in the future. The goal isn't to make the 'perfect' decision about money every time, but to do the best we can and move forward. Most of the time, that's enough."

Cover Art
The Handy Personal Finance Answer Book - Paul A. Tucci
ISBN: 9781578593224
From the basics of banking, investing, insurance, and taxes, to getting in and out of debt, Tucci, a partner in a private-equity investment banking firm, answers many frequently asked questions about finance with a minimum of jargon. The guide includes checklists, government sources, a glossary, appended real estate tips, a template for writing a business plan, and statistics on college cost trends.

Cover Art
More Money, Please - Scott Gamm
ISBN: 9780452298439
Publication Date: 2013-04-30
Personal finance 101--without the homework or quizzes.Most of us graduate high school with a basic understanding of history, math, science, and literature, but when it comes to personal finance--arguably the topic that we use most in our daily lives--we feel lost or overwhelmed. No longer! Cast aside your fear of FICO scores and your confusion about credit cards, because Scott Gamm, founder of HelpSaveMyDollars.com and student at NYU Stern School of Business is here to help.More Money, Please is a comprehensive, easy-to-understand introduction to money management. Gamm walks readers through the basics of personal finance, from savings accounts to student loans, including:**How to pay for college without getting into tons of debt*Why getting a credit card is a good thing--if you pick the right one*How to use your smart phone to pay bills on time*Why it's important to save for retirement right nowA must-read for college students and recent grads, More Money, Please will show you how to take control of your finances.www.helpsavemydollars.com

Cover Art
The Seven Pearls of Financial Wisdom - Carol Pepper; Camilla Webster
ISBN: 9780312641665
An essential guide for every woman who wants to build, preserve, and enjoy her wealth in a world where the old sequential patterns of education, marriage, motherhood, and retirement no longer apply.

Cover Art
The Smartest Money Book You'll Ever Read - Daniel R. Solin
ISBN: 9780399537219
Stop working for money and put your money to work for you! Tens of thousands of readers trust Dan Solin's advice when it comes to investing, managing their 401(k)s, and planning for retirement. Now Solin offers the smartest guide to money management and financial planning yet. From managing your debt, boosting your savings, and owning (or renting) a home to buying insurance, maximizing investment returns, and retiring when you want to, The Smartest Money Book You'll Ever Read is your road map to financial freedom-and to enjoying yourself along the way.

Cover Art
Worth It... Not Worth It? - Jack Otter
ISBN: 9781455508440
Credit or debit? Rent or buy a house? Buy or lease a car? Take or decline the rental car insurance? Renovate the kitchen or finish the basement? Buy stocks or mutual funds? Every day we are forced to make financial decisions, but the right answers all seem to require complicated, mind-numbing research. And who has time for homework when you're paying for a bag of Fritos at 7-11? Or filling out a payroll form on the first day of a new job? Thankfully, there's WORTH IT . . . NOT WORTH IT? WORTH IT . . . NOT WORTH IT? demystifies complex, real-world dilemmas and breaks the answers down into simple, Do This/Not That solutions. Organized around six basic topics-Getting Started, Shelter, Automotive, Investing, Family Matters, and Retirement-this handy book is the Swiss Army knife of personal finance.

Finance Databases

  • Legal Forms
    Official, State specific, Federal, Business, Personal, Real Estate and General forms covering hundreds of legal subjects and issues.
  • Mergent InvestorEdge
    Access documents and financial information for individual companies; corporate documents including annual, industry and equity reports as well as general contact information for each domestic and international company in our database.
  • Morningstar Investment Research Center
    Morningstar Investment Research Center is an all-inclusive investment research database. It features data and analysis on over 13,000 international and domestic stocks, 24,000 mutual funds, and more than 1300 exchange traded funds. Plus, the database boasts a comprehensive Help and Education Center, Portfolio X-Ray and robust screening tools.
  • NewsBank
    The electronic editions of record for valuable local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers--all in one easy-to-search database. Each paper provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community.
  • Regional Business News
    Comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
 

Personal Finance Web Resources

 

Bank Rate Monitor

Bankrate, Inc. is the Web's leading aggregator of financial rate information, offering an unparalleled depth and breadth of rate data and financial content. Bankrate continually surveys approximately 4,800 financial institutions in all 50 states in order to provide clear, objective, and unbiased rates to consumers. Our flagship Web site, Bankrate.com, provides free rate information to consumers on more than 300 financial products, including mortgages, credit cards, new and used automobile loans, money market accounts, certificates of deposit, checking and ATM fees, home equity loans and online banking fees. In addition to rate data, we publish original and objective personal finance stories to help consumers make informed financial decisions. Our staff of award winning reporters and editors provides expert advice on just about every major financial decision facing our readers: from purchasing their first home, to selecting a new car, to saving for retirement.

 

How to Save Money

This is a nice, simple site that has a variety of calculators and worksheets for budgeting, estimating loans, determining spending trends, and more

 

Khan Academy: Finance and Capital Markets

The Khan Academy is an organization on a mission. We're a not-for-profit with the goal of changing education for the better by providing a free world-class education for anyone anywhere. All of the site's resources are available to anyone. It doesn't matter if you are a student, teacher, home-schooler, principal, adult returning to the classroom after 20 years, or a friendly alien just trying to get a leg up in earthly biology. The Khan Academy's materials and resources are available to you completely free of charge. This link includes videos on financial topics that may be of interest to you.

 

Manage Your Money (Colorado Virtual Library)

Don’t let overwhelming information and fine print deter you from finding basic financial freedom in your life. With just a little bit of consistent effort and some basic financial understanding, it is still possible (and relatively simple) to build a successful financial future for yourself. The six quick lessons below will give you a start. Understand the basics, put them into practice, and you’ll be on the path to achieving your financial goals. Along the way, you’ll discover lots of web resources and free online to help. The website includes some tools for learning about financial matters, spending plans and debt management.

 

MyMoney.gov

MyMoney.gov is the U.S. government's website dedicated to teaching all Americans the basics about financial education. Whether you are buying a home, balancing your checkbook, or investing in your 401(k), the resources on MyMoney.gov can help you maximize your financial decisions. Throughout the site, you will find important information from 20 Federal agencies and Bureaus designed to help you make smart financial choices.

 

Your Finances

This blog, maintained by Cash Advance, covers a wide range of financial topics and has guides on many of the financial issues you may be dealing with.

 

 

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip