Skip to main content


Book Lovers Central: Reading Resources

Find your next favorite book with these resources for readers.

Online Reading Resources

 

There are countless websites available to help you in your search for the next good book.  Whether you love a good mystery, exotic travel writing, sentimental love stories, or absorbing memoirs, there's a site to help.  Below, find a list of some of the best websites for readers organized by topic to help you find your next favorite book.

 

Audiobook Websites

 

Audiobook Websites

Audiobooks are books too!  Use these sites to help you find the perfect book to listen to in your car, on your MP3 player, or in your stereo.  And don't forget about the library's downloadable audiobooks through Overdrive.  You can find a link to Overdrive on the "Adults" tab.

 

AudioFile
This magazine's website includes reviews of audiobooks, profiles of popular narrators, and new releases.  AudioFile also gives the Earphone Awards to excellent audiobooks.

Books for Ears
This site is brimming with reviews of a wide range of audiobooks.  The reviewers, who are audiobook lovers from all different backgrounds, have even created themed lists such as "Alternate History" and "Read by the Author."

 

Book Blogs

Back to TOP

 

Book Blogs

Blogs, for the uninitiated, are like extended online diaries.  These are just some of the thousands of book and reading blogs out there.

 

Between the Covers
The Tattered Cover, Colorado's own internationally known independent book store, fills Between the Covers with reviews, suggestions, lists of new books, and more.

Book Riot
Book Riot, which also hosts several podcasts, is packed with book news, reviews, and fun odds & ends.  Whatever your genre, bibliophiles will find something here.

Flashlight Worthy
This blog contains thousands of books on hundreds of lists in dozens of different categories.  Whatever topic you're interested in, they'll likely have a list of recommended books.

Manga Bookshelf
The reviews on this blog focus specifically on manga, and as an added bonus all reviews are searchable through the site's index of reviews.

Stainless Steel Droppings
Read reviews of new and classic science fiction, examine sci-fi cover art,find author interviews and read the occasional review for science fiction and fantasy films.

 

General Reading Websites

Back to TOP

 

General Reading Websites

Here are some of our favorite book and reading sites.  They all have a general focus, and many include information for nonfiction readers as well as fiction.

 

Book Browse
Find books based on genre, theme, setting or more on this website.  You can also read author interviews, find reading guides, play literary games and more.

Book Page
Find book reviews by title, author, or genre.  The site also offers author interviews, resources for book clubs, and reviews of books for children.

BookReporter.com
This website is fully stocked with reviews, articles, bibliographies, and much more, including book-to-movie news and contests.

Fiction Finder
Search the millions of books on this site by title, author or subject, or just browse by genre, character, setting or award winners.  As the name suggests, all of the books listed on this site are fiction.

Fiction_L Booklists
These themed booklists and read-alike lists are created by librarians and book experts across the country.

Fresh Fiction: Books on Television and Radio 
Curious about what's been getting buzz on tv and radio?  Heard about a book but can't remember the title?  Check out Fresh Fiction's section on books in the media to find a comprehensive list of titles featured on television and radio.  Sign up for e-alerts, and you'll never miss a hot new title again!

Gnooks
Although there is a discussion forum on this page, the most unusual features are the book suggester and the literature map, both of which can help you find new books based on the authors you enjoy.

Kent District Library's What's Next?
Find out which book is first in a series, which book comes next, or find new series in your favorite genre.

Whichbook
Find your next book based on your mood!  Use up to four sliding scales in categories like optimistic or bleak, funny or serious, gentle or violent.  You can also filter by setting, and every recommended book includes a brief excerpt.

 

Graphic Novel Websites

Back to TOP

 

Graphic Novel Websites

Whether you're a fan of the Sunday comic strips, superheroes like Superman or the Watchmen, or if you enjoy Japanese Manga, you can find great reviews and suggestions at the websites listed below.

 

Comics Worth Reading
News and reviews for graphic novels, manga, comics, superheroes and more.

Graphic Novels & Comics Guide
A High Plains Library District Librarian and expert on graphic novels and comics maintains this online guide, which includes graphic novel news, reviews, and recommended titles.

No Flying, No Tights 
This site has long been the go-to website for fans of graphic novels.  You won't find any superheroes or comics here, but for graphic novel reviews and recommendations the website can't be beat.

Panels
This brand-new website features articles and reviews of graphic novels and comics, and is also the host for the podcast Oh, Comics!

 

Historical Fiction Websites

Back to TOP

 

Historical Fiction Websites

 From prehistoric days to the swingin' sixties, historical fiction has a huge variety to offer.  Check out the websites below to get an idea of where (in time) you might like to start!
 

Historical Novels
Search this list of over 5000 historical novels to find the books you want in the settings and times that you crave.  The site also offers over 180 reviews.

Historical Novel Society
Although the society requires membership to read most reviews, you can still find all of the editor's choice reviews as well as discussion boards and upcoming releases for historical fiction.

 

Horror Websites

Back to TOP

 

Horror Websites

Horror is the genre for readers who like a chill to run through their veins, who like to feel a sense of menace, or who just plain want to be terrified.  The websites below are a great resource for finding your own personal nightmares.

 

Darkness Beckons
Whether your tastes run to horror, dark fantasy, graphic novels, or even film, Darkness Beckons can help you find the terror you seek.

Horror Novel Reviews
In addition to book reviews and lists, Horror Novel Reviews also feature news stories and interviews about all things horror.

Horror World
This online community for horror fiction fans offers reviews of horror books, message  boards for communication with other horror fans and horror authors, and even some original horror writing.  There is also a section for author interviews, a podcast and a chat room.

Monster Librarian
Find reviews of horror books for adults and teens and reviews of scary stories for kids.  Also included are many author interviews and resources including a list of upcoming horror releases.

 

 

Inspirational Websites

Back to TOP

 

Inspirational Websites

Although all inspirational fiction shares the theme of faith and God in life, that doesn't mean that the books are similar.  Far from it!  No matter your reading interests - love, history, mystery, or even horror - inspirational fiction has a book or ten for you.  Take a look at the websites below to get started.

 

American Christian Fiction Writers
This organization supports authors in the inspirational fiction genre, and as part of that work has created some resources for readers.  The author list is limited, but the lists of titles by genre and of titles by issue are more comprehensive.

ACFW Fiction Finder
This website allows you to create a free account, which will enable you to track the hottest new Christian fiction releases, find books in series, read author interviews and more.  Fiction Finder also hosts an online monthly Christian book club for those who prefer to do their discussing online.

The Faithful Reader
This site has been designed for readers of inspirational fiction, and includes dozens of useful features including book reviews, author biographies, study guides, and reader-submitted recommendations.  There is also a section linking to the teen christian fiction reviews on the Teenreads website.

Mystery Websites

Back to TOP

 

Mystery Websites

Do you have the observation skills of Sherlock Holmes?  The insight of Hercule Poirot?  The scientific know-how of Kay Scarpetta?  If you do, or even if you just wish you did, mystery could be the genre for you.  Suspense, puzzles, sleuthing... it's all waiting for you on these websites.

 

Cozy Mystery List
This is the resource for fans of cozy mysteries.  Find cozy mysteries by author or theme, on TV or film, and read author interviews.  The creator of the site also keeps a blog on the site with reviews, book news, and general discussion.

International Thriller Writers
The site was developed for members of the International Thriller Writers group, but everyday readers will enjoy the information in the monthly publication The Big Thrill.  Each issue contains feature articles on newly published thrillers as well as other book news.

Mystery Readers International
This international organization for mystery readers and fans is responsible for the coveted Macavity Awards for mystery writing in novel, short story, and nonfiction form.

Stop, You're Killing Me!
A great resource for fans of mystery, crime, thriller, spy, or suspense books.  Includes chronological lists of over 3,200 authors' books, both series and non-series, and allows you to browse by character name.

Newsletters

Back to TOP

 

Newsletters

Many publishers and book experts create newsletters as a way to inform readers about upcoming books, popular new authors, or events in the reading community.  All you need to subscribe is a valid email address.

 

The Faithful Reader
This monthly newsletter is written by members of The Book Report Network and features book news, reviews, study guides, and award winners for Inspirational fiction and religious nonfiction.

Fresh Fiction Newsletters
Fresh Fiction offers a variety of newsletters about popular fiction, a newsletter that recommends reviewers' favorite books, and newletters written by several authors of popular fiction.

Penguin Newsletters
Sign up for all the latest news on Penguin authors and new releases, as well as news for book clubs, audio books, Penguin classics, and more.

Random House Newsletters
Random House publishes a variety of newsletters on several genres, including graphic novels, mysteries and romance.  Also find a newsletter for book groups and newsletters for Random House's most popular authors.

Shelf Awareness
Although this newsletter, which is published several times a week, is written for booksellers, publishers and librarians, it is a great place to learn about new and forgotten books.  Regular features include book news, interviews and author buzz.

 

Nonfiction Websites

Back to TOP

 

Nonfiction Websites

While there are dozens, perhaps hundreds, of websites for fiction readers, it can be difficult to find the same kinds of resources for nonfiction readers.  Here are a few websites for the true-story lover in all of us.

 

Book TV
Every weekend CSPAN 2 airs Book TV, which focuses on the best nonfiction books and authors.  The online website includes the CSPAN schedule, a YouTube channel of previous broadcasts and podcasts.

Longform
The Internet is a treasure trove of nonfiction writing, opinion, news, and essays, and Longform is the perfect place to track them down.  All listed articles are 2,000 words or more, and all are freely available to read online.

Modern Library: 100 Best Nonfiction
In 1999, the Modern Library publisher released their list of the 100 best nonfiction books of the millennium.  On this page you can see the original Modern Library list alongside a list created and voted on by everyday readers.

The Resolute Reader 
This blog is kept by one devoted reader of nonfiction, although he does review the occasional novel.  Although the books aren't rated, the blogger doesn't shy away from explaining exactly what was good, or bad, in the books he reads.

Science Friday
Science Friday, a public radio show, is a great spot to find scientific news, book reviews, articles, and more.  You can also listen to the show online or participate in the SciFri Book Club!

 

Romance Websites

Back to TOP

 

Romance Websites

 

Whether spicy or gentle, contemporary or historical, funny or suspenseful, romance books always offer the reader one thing: a happily ever after.  These websites will help you find yours.

 

All About Romance
The hundreds of reviews on this site are rated using a "sensuality rating system" to ensure that your romances are just as hot as you like them, no more, no less.  There are also many message boards and forums, feature articles, a yearly contest for best romances, a "purple prose" contest, and more.

CataRomance: Celebrating Category Romance
Category romance are often also called series romance, and consist of the books released monthly under series such as Harlequin Intrigue, Silhouette Desire, Steeple Hill Love Inspired and others.  Search this site's reviews by rating, sensuality level, publisher or release month.

Fresh Fiction
Most of this site's reviews are for romance books, but you can also find many mysteries and thrillers.  Fresh Fiction is also home to several bloggers, and you may find articles by your favorite authors along with email alerts for their new books.

Mrs. Giggles
Mrs. Giggles' reviews are long, detailed, funny, and often contain some salty language.  She also isn't afraid to be completely honest, so if she didn't enjoy a book you'll know it.  Reviews of music and movies are also listed, although the main focus is on books.

NA Alley
NA Alley is the go-to resource for fans of New Adult fiction. And don't miss the "resources" tab, which can help you find books based on heat level, profanity, and violence!

Romantic Times Book Reviews
The website for this national magazine offers a comprehensive search feature that allows you to combine search terms such as author, title, rating or romance type (such as Chick Lit, Inspirational, or Romantic Suspense).  You can also find themed lists and lists of favorites and classics.

Smart Bitches, Trashy Books 
If you're looking for an honest, funny, and knowledgeable site to find romance recommendations, look no further.  This hilarious blog posts daily, and never hesitates to let you know which books are swoon-worthy and which books are a waste of your precious reading time.  The jokey, irreverent writing has made this blog the most popular romance site on the web.

Science Fiction & Fantasy Websites

Back to TOP

 

Science Fiction & Fantasy Websites

Prepare for the coming brave new world with the science fiction websites listed below, or escape reality into a magical realm with the fantasy listings.

 

Locus Online
This online site for the popular science fiction/fantasy magazine includes a blog, interviews, reviews and articles relating to science fiction and fantasy.  You can also find links to the websites of your favorite science fiction/fantasy authors, illustrators and publishers.

SF Site
Find reviews, interviews, columns, reading lists and more on this website.  Science fiction and fantasy books, websites, audiobooks, etc. are all covered, and the content is updated at least once a month.

Tor.com
TOR is a popular publisher of science fiction and fantasy, and Tor.com is a great resource for science fiction and fantasy news, reviews, short stories, and more.

 

Social Networking for Readers

Back to TOP

 

Social Networking for Readers

Connect with other readers across the world to hold conversations about books, share favorites, and make recommendations, all while keeping track of what you've read.

 

GoodReads
Keep track of what you've read, what you'd like to read, and what your friends are reading.  You can also read and write reviews and get recommendations from people around the world.  GoodReads accounts are free, but anyone can access the site and read the reviews.

JacketFlap
This social networking site focuses specifically on books for children and teens.  Registration is free, and although most of the members are children's book authors, illustrators, publishers, or librarians, anyone is welcome to join.

LibraryThing
Catalog and organize your books, find other readers with similar taste, read reviews and get recommendations.  This site is home to over 900,000 readers, and accounts up to 200 books are free, but anyone can read the reviews and recommendations.

Shelfari
This site uses a visual bookshelf format to keep track of what you want to read, what you've read, and what you thought of it.  You can also get recommendations from other readers, and accounts are free although anyone can read the reviews.

 

 

Upcoming Releases

Back to TOP

 

Upcoming Releases

Plan ahead!  Use these resources to find out about the books being released in the next several months.

 

Barnes & Noble Coming Soon
The online store for the national bookstore chain Barnes & Noble lists upcoming book releases by week of release.  Find books up to five weeks in advance, or sometimes even earlier.

The Bloodstained Bookshelf
This site offers a list of mystery books soon to be published in the United States.  Lists are organized alphabetically by author and are separated by month of release.

Locus Online Forthcoming Books
Locus, a popular magazine for science fiction and fantasy, lists upcoming releases for that field by month.  The lists are offered several months into the future.

YALit Book Release Dates
This page offers a long list of anticipated books written for teens and includes release dates and series information when relevant.

 

Urban Websites

Back to TOP

 

Urban Websites

If you like your books to be a little grittier, a little more real, urban fiction could be just what you're craving.  Find the best new books featuring life in the big city with the websites below.

 

 Street Fiction
Features book reviews, author interviews, and news as well as online resources for fans, authors, and librarians.  Also offers the capability to find books based on setting or theme.  Check the top of the screen for links to information about Christian Urban fiction and Teen Urban fiction.

The Urban Book Source
In addition to book reviews, author interviews, and book news, this website offers a message board and links to the website's YouTube channel.  Readers can also apply to review books for the website.

 

Western Websites

Back to TOP

 

Western Websites

The mystique of the Wild West has proven to have lasting appeal.  Find all the pioneers, mountain men, gunfights and homesteads you can handle at the websites below.

 

Roundup Magazine
The online version of Western Writers of America's monthly magazine.  Non-subscribers can read the current issue's articles, interviews, and book reviews for free, but back issues are only available to subscribers.

Western Authors
This directory lists Western authors based on type of Western.  For example, find a list of authors who write traditional, non-fiction, inspirational, or historical romance Westerns.